71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 19 – Foot Noises = Not Good

After two days spent driving to Clemson and back, we got home yesterday, did some unpacking, reacquainting ourselves with the dogs, and a little slug time. We did have a grand plan of moving some of our clams from nursery to grow-out bags. Not a very time-intensive process, but necessary, and you need to do it in 2 days – get the nursery bags on day 1, replant on day 2. So Jake, Jeff and I went down to the dock yesterday with the intention of retrieving some nursery clams. The road to hell is paved with good intentions – a depressing mantra, but sometimes so fitting. Jeff was walking with our basket of wetsuits, slicker pants and our filled Roo cups (love our 25 cent fountain drink refills), when he stopped suddenly, dropped everything and grabbed a table. He was obviously in a lot of pain, but I wasn’t sure why. He asked me if I heard that pop, but I didn’t. That made me a little squeamish – audible body sounds not digestion-related are a bit scary. So, long story short – we headed to Nasson, talked to his podiatrist, and Jeff is on crutches with a very painful foot and he’s seeing the podiatrist Monday. It’s either a hairline fracture or more likely (from my Internet research) a ruptured tendon. YUCK.

Extremely Frustrating for him and us as we had great plans to sail either today or tomorrow for a few days, with a stay-over at the City Marina downtown and a Riverdogs game. That plan might need to be delayed, but I’m determined to do some sailing and so is Jeff.

So Jeff’s on the couch, and I’m trying to be a better nurse.  I need Yoda’s inspiring, “there is no try, only do.” But I’m probably a worse Jedi knight than nurse…. On the humorous side, I think I’ll print some of these cards (at left)  for Jeff when we have answers to all of the questions.

I am looking forward to the Blueberry Festival in McClellanville tomorrow. Jeff will be crutching it or staying home, but I’m going with some very old friends of ours from childhood who are making a special trip from North Carolina to see the bands at the festival. Should be fun!

Illustration: http://inspirationfromtribulation.com/the-greatest-tip-for-those-recovering-from-surgery/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

