71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 28 – Kayaking and Birthday Fun!

Today is my little boy’s 18th birthday. It’s hard to believe my little boy is a adultish type person (he can now buy spray paint and lottery tickets legally – WOW). I try to deny it by standing on my tippy toes next to him, but even wearing my highest heals and standing on my toes, he’s still taller than me. As much as everyone told me about how fast the time goes when you have children, I never believed it of course. I was much to busy sweeping cheerios off the floor and folding tiny shirts to believe that this would go by fast. Some days seemed to last forever especially when there was no nap. His years of popsicle-eating, pacifier -switching, and tail-wearing might be over, but we’re looking forward to what comes next for Jake.

ImageI know I haven’t blogged for 2 days, but I decided that if I could blog for 25 days, I could do some serious exercise for the next 25 days so I committed to being an exercise machine. Today, I biked to the end of the village (about 5 miles) and later to the post office (2 miles) and then kayaked with my nephew, Gray. My arms are still in recovery from carrying Anabelle at the zoo and the kayaking almost did me in, but I did it. The bonus was we saw two dolphins up and down the creek that were with us the whole time! I even captured a picture of his dorsal fin and not the wake rings I usually photograph after the dolphin disappears under the water.

Image

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 28 – Kayaking and Birthday Fun!

  1. Karen Teague on said:

    Kayaking with the dolphins has been one of my favorite memories of McClellanville. It is hard to believe Jake has reached this milestone. I still remember pushing him in the porch swing in Greenville and walking up to Mc Donalds with him for happy meals. I doubt he’d even remember those time but they are sweet memories for me. He has grown into such a terrific guy that I constantly brag about him to my friends. He has such a wicked sense of humor that we always enjoy getting to hang out with him when we visit. I love reading your updates because it makes me feel like I’m there with you guys. Take care and enjoy the rest of the summer. Keep those updates coming! You are inspiring me to maybe use a blog in my classroom next year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

