71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 44 – My son got a tattoo

And I’ve decided not to freak out. I actually really love the choice he made, Max from Where the Wild Things Are. If I were an 18-year-old, I think I might have chosen something similar. My librarian heart is a little proud that he chose a much-loved literary character. So I begrudgingly gave him my blessing and asked him to pinky swear not to add any more tattoos, gauges or otherwise permanently disfigure himself further. He laughed off my repeated requests, but I’m crossing my fingers and saying my prayers. I’m thinking a nice Junie B. Jones butt hat would look spectacular on me. Jeff has always been more of a C.S. Lewis guy, so i’m not sure what we should embroider in blood on his body.
The bottom line is I love Jake and respect his decisions, even when I’m cringing on the inside. I’m sure when I get my Junie B. tattoo, I’ll understand his motivation more. And if anyone sees Jake at a piercing parlor, you have my permission to crash your car through the front windows. I can only be so cool.

20120718-220950.jpg

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 44 – My son got a tattoo

  1. It’s a very well done tattoo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

