71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 56 – Read The Chaperone!

Enjoyed a great book club this evening after reading The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty, a book I’d highly recommend. It was great to discuss a book we’d all enjoyed and I could have talked about it for hours. One of my favorite quotes in the book is when the main character realizes she is grateful for the friendship of a man she despised only a few years earlier; “she was grateful life could be long.”  An eloquent reminder that, “this too shall pass,” and there are many happy endings.

The book looked at several women in the 1920s and I can say that I would have undoubtedly been in prison or an insane asylum (the corsets alone were killer) if I had lived at that time. I am grateful to live at a great time in our country and in the greatest country in the world. Okay, I won’t break into a riveting rendition of God Bless America, but I needed a little thankfulness in my day. So I’m done with that and I’m going to start whining about my children, husband, bunions, or impending school beginning : )

(P.S. As I googled the Chaperone for the book cover, I found many photos of what appeared to be a professional wrestler, not the Olympic kind, who must also go by this name – but rest assured, my book was not about a wrestler.)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

