71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 64 – Freeing House of Clutter

Being a teacher-librarian shares certain qualities with pregnancy. With due date (or school return) pending, the need to clean out the closets, make the laundry room more spa-ish and clear the clutter that envelopes my home becomes increasingly more urgent. My home nest needs to be in order so I can go to my other nest and take care of my students there.

Now, I don’t think I’ll be on Horders any time soon, but I do have a little clutter issue, and I believe everyone else in my family suffers from the same ailment. With the beginning of school pending, I feel the urge to HGTVify my home just a little, and in the last 7 days, I’m turning up the volume.

My recent cleaning-fest has been helped with the purchase of a new to me Electroluxx vacuum cleaner from the Myrtle Beach GoodWill  for….drumroll please…. $5.95! The vacuum is exactly like the one my mom had in the early 1980s that I believe she made payments on – so I’m thinking I got a better deal. I’m looking forward to dragging my golden a la 1980s canister around the house (or better yet, watching Jeff or the kids do it).

Tomorrow, I’m actually going to school with Jake and Katie helping and hoping to start making the SJSE nest ready for my 240 little chicks that are due August 22nd! I am fortunate to have two wonderful nests, helpers and no contractions! The best nests come without diapers I think.

I’m also working on the design for my next blog with book reviews for children’s books and more teacher-librarian tidbits. Thanks to those of you who liked this idea, and encouraged me to continue writing & blogging.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 64 – Freeing House of Clutter

  1. Sandi Young on said:

    hi…I have really enjoyed “following” you around this summer…so please continue to do this during the school year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

