71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 71 – Our summer is over…

..and it’s sad to see it end. My list of things I’d like to do this summer is still pretty long. As I rode my bike this morning, enjoying seeing 12 different species of birds, dropping in for coffee with a friend and just enjoying being outside in the sun and the bugs, I realized that the world will not disappear when I start working tomorrow. I can still come home and ride my bike after school. I’ll have holidays and my life will go on with more work and less time, but that’s life!

On the super positive side, 71days has had 1937 views over the course of the summer. I’ve posted 57 – now 58 – days out of the 71 – which seems like a not bad average – at least a passing grade for participation. I also didn’t want to post junki on the days when I watched HGTV, ate ham sandwiches or generally lumped out on the sofa.

So what next? Many friends have made encouraging comments and I’ve decided to start another blog more focussed on my job as a teacher librarian. So I hope you’ll check out MissLibeary.wordpress.com. We might resurrect 71 days again next summer which sounds like fun too. What I’ve learned from blogging is that it has amped up my awareness for what I’m doing, and how that jives with what I want to be doing and should be doing. Whatever you write down becomes truer and more important somehow, if only because you can actually recall it a little more readily. While I’m sure it would be very important to document the life of the Pope, Mother Theresa, or maybe even Rick James, but why document my life? Am I just putting on my big TaaaDaaa suit like I did when I was six and waiting for everyone to say good job and put my blog printout on refrigerators all over the world! Yes a little bit. Because sometimes its nice to have outside validation of what you’re doing. I especially look forward to hearing your opinions in my professional arena! So Goodbye 71days and hello MissLibeary!

Happy Reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

