71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 3: tiki torches and other pinteresty discoveries

Today was packed with fun including visiting my sister and her family, grocery shopping, biking and making tiki torches and self-tanner. The grocery shopping is a necessary evil that I avoid until we’re left with only food that requires more than 10 minutes and/or two appliances to prepare. That’s when my kids say, “there’s nothing to eat,” but the pantry is literally overflowing. So it’s time to shop–No green peanuts for boiling – sad face.
I also visited my sister Karen who celebrated her 40th birthday this weekend. What a liberating thing it is to turn 40, seriously my best years. When I first returned to being more Kim than someone’s mom, wife, daughter, sister. I love being all of those things, and on many days I am mom all day, or wife all day, but unlike when the kids were so young and needy.
So now I have time to do things like make my own self-tanner (Pinterest idea number 47 I’m guessing.) I mixed cocoa powder with my moisturizer and rubbed on my legs. Not bad, looking a little more orange white than blue white, so moving towards a tan, or as much of a tan my freckled Irish skin will allow. And I smell deliciously chocolate!
Tiki torches (Pinterest idea #48) were easy to make with empty wine bottles, tiki torch wicks ($2.25 for 2 at Target), 3/8 washers and tiki fuel. As I started making these I realized they look a lot like molatof cocktails, so I did decide to light outside just in case they blew up. Jeff pointed out my penchant for flame (I have an unhealthy interest in flare guns — watch the movie Dead Calm and you will too.) I digress–so torches made from several different size, color and shaped wine bottles. They look great on the porch and provide lots of light! Yippee– now do you think I can find flare gun plans on Pinterest. Macgyver’s board maybe!

20130608-223159.jpg

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 3: tiki torches and other pinteresty discoveries

  1. Jeff on said:

    The torches worked great. I had a great day with you and Katie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

