71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 6: summer begins (fo true this time)

Kids who think they’re going somewhere behave differently than kids who think they’re going nowhere.

So after another fun-filled day of p.d., I have several nuggets of illumination to sustain me in the upcoming year like the Pedro Nogiera quote above. Gives me something to think about for the next 50 or so days.

My other major discovery of interest to all the bargain-hunters I know (and all of my friends are great bargain aficionados). I went to a wonderful session with a Drayton Hall educators, and won the door prize, a membership at Drayton Hall. So that’s great and all and I’ll get touristy this summer and pretend to be living the Southern life at Drayton. Memberships are a bargain at $35. But that’s not even the best part; membership allows you free or reduced entry at other National Historic Sites AND National Historic Hotels.

I shared this with my book club friends tonight. Tomorrow is my p.d.-free (not p-diddy, pro. development) true beginning of summer. I’m hopeful I’ll find some great hotel deals for some summer getaways. I’m thinking I’ll behave better if I go to historic hotel soon though.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 6: summer begins (fo true this time)

  1. Great quote!
    Also, Maggie’s husband, Joe, works at Drayton!

    Like

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

