71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 7: Woot Woot!

Great Friday starting with my couch to 5k run/walk/near cardiac arrest. Today was the first day run time was increased to 5 minutes, and it was a LONG five minutes. When I started though the 1:30 was long, so am hopeful that by the end of June I can run for more than 5 minutes even! Dare to dream.

I am fortunate to have a beautiful waterfront cemetery where I can run without any onlookers, so most of the pictures came from our lovely cemetery. Jake was in kindergarten right next to the cemetery at then Archibald Rutledge Academy, now CREECS.  His fantastic kindergarten teacher Ms. Kelly took the class there and they did grave rubbings. I’ve always loved the rubbing Jake did, and the idea of Jake being a respectful kindergartener, being careful not to get any purple crayon on the headstone, finding art all around him. Note to self and any other parent: always keep some black construction paper and crayon-gold or silver is great when you go to zoos, etc., because there are opportunities to do these rubbings in lots of places. I don’t think I can get Jake and Katie to do any now, but I don’t mind a bit making my own souvenir the next time I go to a zoo.

Today is my niece Jenna’s birthday, so we’re off to Jimmy’s farm for some hot dogs and birthday cake. So glad to have my nieces and nephews close by and looking forward to spending time with them over the summer.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

