71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 10: Exotic Animals in the Village

I was riding my bike today in my ongoing quest to become the skinny me.  So I’m riding by one house where I hear the familiar call of their pet macaw that is usually in an outside cage or perched on the nearby ladder that I’ve also seen her on. I’m sure she loves being outside and seeing what’s happening and after hearing her screamy, temper-trantrumy call, I’m sure everyone at her house prefers for her to be outside.
I didn’t see her on the way by, but on my return, I noticed a car leaving the macaw’s driveway and she was screaming like someone had stolen her cornflakes (I think they actually eat fruit, but you get the picture). I still couldn’t see her — and I was looking hard too. I had an unfortunate incident in a pet store once when a parrot landed on my head which involves a lot of scratching and wings flapping in your face. Not something I want to relive and screachy sounds were making me a bit nervous. macaw2

I finally spotted her in a large oak tree across the street from her house about 40 feet up. I tried to get a picture of her after I took some deep breaths and realized I’d at least see her coming if she decided to attack my head. I never got a good shot, so here’s a picture from National Geographic’s website (great site for kids also – highly recommend).

Anywho, I survived my encounter with screachy bird. I hope she’s made it back to her perch, or that she’s enjoying her higher purchase. I did notice squirrels were scattering to get away from her, so I wasn’t the only nervous creature on the street.

I just love riding my bike around the village. You never know what you’ll see (or hear).

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

