71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 18: healthy summer

20130626-182249.jpg

BBQ by the bubble gum machine with Marsha.

I started out today with my couch to 5K run (which is quickly morphing into more walking).  I don’t think I like running…I’m not giving up, but I’m definitely not reveling in the freedom of the run. The wind does not ripple through my hair as I run since it is drenched in sweat and there is not a breeze to be found.  Again, I am not giving up, but I’m pretty close. So after a running intermittently (and the lady’s voice on C25K is getting on my nerves by the way), I just kept going and walked for over an hour (that’s gotta be good, right?). Running is not conducive to taking pictures and enjoyed taking a few pictures of some of our beautiful trees.

After the walk, I got to go to the Moncks Corner farmers market with my friend Marsha who is really one of my favorite people.  She is probably one of my oldest friends (though we’re both amazingly young). It’s nice to have friends who you can just pick up where you left off even if you haven’t been wonderful at keeping in touch. I’m fortunate to have a handful of friends like that!

We got to buy plants from a super knowledgeable plant man, watermelon, corn (12 ears for $3-yippee), and our protein – boiled peanuts. Of course when I’m in Moncks Corner, I love to check in with my brother and his family. Joe was at the farmers market and gave Marsha her box of veggies as one of the founding members of the Wabi Sabi CSA. At the farm, I got to pick some tomatoes, sample their cantaloupes and blackberries and touch base with my neice about our ongoing Pinterest projects.

A great day with a dear friend with yummy vegetables, plants and fruits to show for it. I’m definitely living the dream.

20130626-182318.jpg

I’ve figured out why my hydrangeas pale in comparison. I need a 200-year-old oak tree. Those aren’t easy to come by.

20130626-182342.jpg

I love taking pictures of trees looking from the underside. So pretty.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 18: healthy summer

  1. Jennifer Brown on said:

    Great price on the corn! Keep up the C25K I swear it gets easier. I didn’t say enjoyable but it does get easier!

    Like

  2. Marcia on said:

    Looking forward to our next outing. As usual we never run out of interesting conversation and are always on alert to learn something new!
    Ready for our new homeopathic enterprise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

