71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 23: raindrops keep falling!

20130701-215744.jpg So we’re on day 35 of rain. Not really, but it certainly feels like the rain never stops. I did a little research to find out how moods/depression and rainfall relate to one another. I thought there must be a correlation, but from what I read, there isn’t one. Go figure. So once again I must learn to stop whining!
We’ve had 3.3 inches of rainfall this week (thanks Tree Committee members Gabe and Larry). It could be worse….like it will be in three days when all of the mosquitoes hatch! We’ll have sunshine while we marinate ourselves in bug spray, and I for one will be a little happier. Maybe it’s the Vitamin D I’m missing, but despite the research to the contrary, I like to spend summer days outside.
I have caught up on some of my reading though, finishing Anita Shreve’s The Last Time They Met today. I’m a member of two year-round book clubs, a professional book club during the school year plus my student book clubs. I could write (have and will) a lot about these women who are a big part of my life. We grow together by sharing these books, but more importantly by sharing our time and attention. We commit to stopping at least once a month, sitting together and having thoughtful conversation about books looking through the lens of our lives, or vice versa. My husband jokes that it is more of a wine club, but that just sharpens or dulls that lens, and sometimes that’s also what we need.
So, if the rain continues, I heartily recommend we read more books and hang out with friends to talk about them. You can’t go wrong with friends and reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

