71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 24: birthdays keep coming!

20130702-215319.jpg
Today is our son’s 19th birthday, and we celebrated today with lunch with both of his grandmothers at our favorite restaurant, T. W. Graham’s. I am always proud that Jake enjoys spending time with his family when some people his age aren’t so comfortable with anyone older than 22 or younger than 17.
Later, we had a family dinner with the whole fam damily including Jake’s six first cousins, all younger. My sister’s boys, the youngest cousins, have been in their house for three days with our SC monsoon season and were a little “active.” Seeing them and Jake reminded me of the days when my biggest worry was that someone might have a potty accident, spill lemonade or get sick in the middle of the night.
As the mom of a 19-year-old, the worries are amplified to include car accidents and I am hesitant to list the other worries. Saying them out loud could bring them even more to life than they already are in my vivid mom anxiety-loaded imagination. As my worries have matured along with my son, my control over his life has naturally and rightfully diminished. That is the way of life. Our kids grow up to become the grownups they are supposed to be and we hope and pray (a lot) they’ll have more taaadaaas and less utttos in their lives. That is my hope for my little boy, I mean young man. Strike that. Despite the fact that he towers over me with his 6’2″ frame, he’ll always be my little boy. And that’s okay. I’ll figure out how to be the mom of a grownup man and we’ll all live happily ever after. Taaaadaaaa!!!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

