71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Travel Tips for Spirit to Philadelphia

The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.

Saint Augustine

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/s/saintaugus108132.html#Itp573eJskRr953e.99

As a totally inexperienced traveler, but one that is working on being vastly experienced, I’ve outlined — tips for traveling to Philadelphia, although some apply everywhere.
1. Número Uno – if you’re traveling on Spirit or any airline that charges for carry on, I highly recommend the purse only packing method. Make your own clothing tootsie rolls, rubber band them and put in bottom of your largest purse and you are golden and at least $50 ahead of the game.
2. Double decker bus tours are the bomb. Really, suck it up and embrace the tourist vibe. Break out the fanny pack (sarcasm alert – just say no to fanny packs). Sunburn alert though – no shade on top of a bus so bring your hat and sunscreen. The guides I had in Philadelphia were funny and knowledgeable full of local-only tips.
3. Go Solo! I embraced the lunch counter on my own during this trip, and got to talk with lots of interesting folks. Although I missed the wonderful man I married, I felt like I got more in touch with local info., perspective than I have on other trips.
4. Visit Your Career Counterparts: I am part of the best profession, so a visit to the historic Philly Free Library and chatting with the children’s librarian was illuminating. Who knew they have a huge collection of N.C. Wyeth art in the children’s room?

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

