71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Summer 2015 begins on Jeremy Creek

Actually, we’ve been out of school for most of June, but my official summer fun blogging began today. So continuing my theme in much of my life, Better Late Than Never, I am kicking off summer 3 weeks past when everyone else did.  Summer, 2015, marks year four of the 71 Days blog (being followed by tens of people or maybe cats, but smart cats anyway). 

Since one of my favorite things to do is kayak, I thought that would be a great beginning, and got to kayak up Jeremy Creek out to the waterway with some great teacher friends of mine. As the self-appointed (and mightily underpaid) tour guide and cheerleader for McClellanville, I do enjoy sharing the best of our village with people from, “off.” There are many inconveniences living 20 miles fom a bank, grocery store and movie theatre, but a few hours on the creek remind me that I shouldn’t center my life around buying orange juice and making bank deposits. Being a short bike ride away from dolphins, great seafood and a staggering amount of natural beauty is worth the trade-off.

Except for possibly the sunburn. There is a reason we’ve never heard of the Irish Kayaking Team. If there was one, they wouldn’t last through 2 hours of SC sun as I am often reminded whenever I spend more than 8 minutes outside. I encrusted myself in 40 sunscreen today twice and still am a crispy critter. I will be scouring the internet for better sunscreen alternatives for my next trip out.  

     

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

