71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Two days ’til Ciao! 

Grandma Good on trip to Egypt with her sister Kathleen. They paid for the trip with their share of their mother’s home sale after she passed away.

I  recently acquired a passport. I am a world traveler who happens to have never left the country (cruise ship stop-offs pre-passport requirements not included). And how, you may ask, did I become so well-traveled without leaving the good old US of A?

Ask my lovely parents, my traveling grandmother, my wonderful husband and a few other friends and family who have been supporters of my traveling dreams. Here are some of the ways I’ve been a traveler in my own home:

  1. I have worshipped at the yellow-bordered National Geographic alter all of my life! My parents subscribed as did I adding NG Budget Traveler to my reading list in recent years.
  2. My parents also watched mass quantities of PBS when I was a kid. That was met by many groans when I just wanted to watch The Brady Bunch, but like so many things, I appreciate it much more now. I’m still a fan of nature and travel shows.
  3. Grandma Good, my traveling hero. She was a widow at my age and when she retired, she took to the road and skies at the drop of a hat. She loved traveling and would come visit us with her suitcase laden with treats from afar and we adored the goodies and the stories. Mostly I remember the “stuff!” And it was then that I equated travel with fun.

In two days though, my wanderlust is being sated (that sounded kind of sexy, didn’t it?!) as we are traveling to Italy! To Venice, Florence and Rome. I am overcome with the emotions of my traveling dreams coming true, and am alternating between manic, giggly excitement and stomach-turning anxiety. The most fun part of these competing feelings is the speed of the switch. Cry, giggle, laugh, freak out — the complete cycle takes about 8 seconds.

So I’m distracting myself a little by writing between packing and list-making bursts. Ready or not, here we come. I am hopeful, nervous, giddy and slightly terrified, but overall I am grateful to my family who not only inspired my love of travel but also have made this trip possible. Ciao and Grazie!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Two days ’til Ciao! 

  1. Just focus on the food! And try to fit in some small walled towns!

    Like

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

