71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 42 – Jury Duty

“That is the worst disrespect you can show someone – boxing them in their head in front of their pregnant friend, or spitting on them.”

That quote is from the witness testimony in a domestic violence trial on which I was an jury alternate. Sad, sad, sad, with layers of so many bad choices that ending up in a courtroom is the best outcome you could hope for.

I did my civic duty, mejurydutyt some nice folks on the jury, got to go to a French restaurant for lunch (Broad Street courthouse is a great location), and got to come home to my comfortable,Ā  happy life. I hope and pray I never have to be anywhere in a courtroom other than on the jury and that all of the choices in my life don’t get to be judged by other people.

Although most of us would like to avoid all aspects of the court system, I am glad I had the experience. Somehow I have never served on a jury and think this experience is valuable and worthwhile, in addition to being my responsibility as an American citizen. But I will be glad to have a three-year reprieve before I go again.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly CampingĀ®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

