71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 32 – Summer’s Halfway Over

…..and I’ve finally written something. I am at Clemson for my youngest and only daughter’s orientation into college. I’m vacillating between booting her out the door as her 18-year-old self knows everything and isn’t afraid to express it, and hugging her constantly and fearing for her departure. Everyone talks about the empty nest syndrome, and I’m waiting for my own personal breakdown, but that hasn’t happened yet — and I’m hoping we’ll be breakdown-free for the rest of the summer.

During our parent orientation, the wonderful folks at Clemson reminded us repeatedly to allow our students to succeed and fail on their own. They’re independent people,

img_7997

 

Great Italian food at Brioso on Tiger Blvd.

 

responsible for themselves now, etc., etc. Then why do we need to go to, “parent orientation?”  for two days (and pay for it also, btw). After going, I think our parenting style may not be the style of most parents. We raised our girl to be independent and she is (much to my annoyance sometimes). Maybe we’re in the minority, but I’m proud of our strong-willed, independent girl.

 

Despite feeling a little annoyed with the constant reminders that our child is 18 (knew that already), I’m glad we went. I feel much more comfortable about Katie’s school and the upcoming year. For those parents like me who’ve already taught their kids to do their own laundry, chew their own food and match their clothes, having our kids go away is a natural progression of what we (and they) have worked towards over the past 18 years. I’m confident she can take care of herself and rock her school career.

It’s okay to be a grown-up. She can do this and we can start this new chapter of our family adventure together (and apart)!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

