71 Days

What I did during my summer vacation…

Day 37ish – Mass Transit is Super!

Trains are my favorite I think. Yesterday my dear daughter and I got a little adventurous and took the commuter train from Ramsey to Hoboken. I know you can’t believe how fortunate we are to be able to go to Hoboken, but we are living the dream. 

If you don’t have a former 10-year-old who was utterly committed to Buddy Valastro of The Cupcake Boss fame, you might not see the draw. We took a 52-minute train ride to buy delicious canolli and look back a little bit a flavorful memory. My little cupcake is no longer ten, but canolli knows no age.

Hoboken is a lovely small city with fantastic views of the NYC skyline. And home to Frank Freaking Sinatra. Fly me to the moon – Wowza. From the historic train station (like we arrived at Station 9 3/4 to go to Hogwarts), you can take another train or ferry into the city -so a great stop with a truly beautiful train station.

Station says Lackawanna vertically – party of Lackawanna line.

Katie even said she could have taken the trip in her own. Of course she could – score for mom and mass transit.

We brought home some canolli and crumb cake to share with the family — what a great time. I’ll miss my NJ fam when we go home.

Ceiling of Hoboken train station.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

sharpread

colbysharp@gmail.com

Bulls Bay Seafood

Freshest seafood from the pristine waters of Bulls Bay, South Carolina

Girly Camping®

It's Not Just For Boys...

Eclectic Ramblings

Random thoughts, book reviews, crafts, etc.

Malcolm Baldwin

Life in Slow Motion

EKL Writes!

How I became a Rockstar Writer & Librarian

The Premature Summer Countdown

A pessimist's way of squandering her 9 free weeks.

William P. Baldwin

Poet, Author, Photographer

DC, baby!

Shock and awwww as a tiny new resident inhabits the nation's capital.

